The Ditty Bops

I’m going to make a bold statement here and proclaim that when Amanda Barrett and Abby DeWald sing together it is the most beautiful combination of voices ever. In fact, it doesn’t even sound like two voices anymore, their perfect harmonies create a new super human voice. Obviously this is only my opinion but I am rarely wrong about these things.

Amanda and Abby are The Ditty Bops from Los Angeles. Their music is often described as “quirky” but I don’t really like that word to describe them. I understand that when your live shows are whimsical and often include costumes, skits and a cast of characters you run the risk of being called quirky but when it comes to musical ability and song writing skills I think it is far too weak a word to use.

The Ditty Bops formed around 2003 while chasing a neighbor’s cat through the backyard of a musician/guitar collector who convinced them to start a band. You know, that typical story most bands share. Since the cat incident the girls have released three albums and one EP and even managed to bike an entire tour. That’s right, in 2006 they rode their bicycles 4,700 miles from LA to NYC while on tour – you can read their tour diary here.

I would suggest picking up a CD or two in time for spring. It will make the perfect soundtrack for drinking a cold glass of lemonade on a warm sunny day.
– KR

I love this clip because it shows how effortlessly it appears to be for them. It’s nice to know there are still a few real musicians out there.

Here’s another great clip that showcases their playful aesthetic. (I almost said quirky)

