Ok, I know my sister is reading this laughing aloud because I was sort of metal when I was in 7th and 8th grade. I’ll say it! Lots of black eyeliner, black sweatshirts, I think some bandana action and of course the requisite feathered hair. I was super into Def Leppard as well as the usual others: Motley Crüe, Iron Maiden, Judas Priest – those were my favorites. Def Leppard was at the very top of the list. I had “High and Dry” and of course had “Pyromania” memorized forward, backward and inside out. All the videos too. Posters, concert tees, the works. They lost me after that. Or maybe I changed. I seem to remember for a while that I was somewhat embarrassed about that period of my life. We all have that sort of time though. It is usually around 12, 13 years old and I think we can all agree that it’s awkward even under the best of circumstances. Then something happened, not sure when, where I kind of like that I was a little weird.

All that aside, I just felt like it needed to be said that “Bringin’ on the Heartbreak” is an amazing song. Seriously. It came on the radio today and I found myself, as I always do, blaring it with the 2 littlest ones sitting behind me in the minivan. One kid rocked to it while looking at me quizzically and the other was preoccupied with Tic-Tacs but I was laughing and kept singing so loudly and saying “you guys, seriously, how awesome is this song?!?!?”

Then I thought “why has no one covered this? Surely Weezer would do an awesome job of that!” And guess what. Too late. Oh my God! How did I completely miss this? Good grief, it’s bad. I can’t even make it past the first line so good luck with that.

Anyway, Kent is teaching me guitar and I plan on performing this at my recital.

– JF

