Lars and the Real Girl

Have you seen Lars and the Real Girl? If not you should and now is your chance because it was just released on DVD. I am a big fan of Ryan Gosling especially his amazing Oscar-nominated (he should have won) performance in Half Nelson but when I first heard about Lars and the Real Girl I was a little worried. It sounded like a wacky comedy about a crazy guy who falls for a love doll and I thought Ryan Gosling had let Hollywood get to him. I could not have been more wrong.

Lars and the Real Girl DVDGosling plays a lonely guy who just does not fit in with the world around him. Although he is surrounded with family and supportive acquaintances he remains painfully shy and introverted. His solution is to order a high end love doll for companionship. Unlike most people who might order a doll of this nature, Lars is only interested in her friendship. I don’t want to give away the entire plot so I will just say that what follows is a surprisingly endearing and sensitive film that is far from being just another silly movie. Gosling and the rest of the cast give such amazing performances that the joke of a lifeless love doll in every scene begins to fade away and the audience begins to accept “Bianca” as a real person just as Lars does. Lars and the Real Girl is a touching, funny and intelligent film that will most likely fill your eyes with tears at least a couple times. I know, it sounds crazy but it’s true. I would suggest having yourself a little Ryan Gosling fest and do a double feature with Half Nelson. – KR

