Corey Haim as Lucas

Back in the summer of 1985 I was between my freshman and sophomore years in high school. Wham, Mr. Mister and Huey Lewis & The News topped the charts and I spent most of my time skateboarding or at “Galaxy World” the local arcade. It was also the year I made my major motion picture debut.

John Hughes was packing movie theaters with teens hungry to have “their story” told and writer/directer David Seltzer wanted a piece of the action. His solution was a Hughes-esque screenplay about a nerdy kid named Lucas (Corey Haim) who falls for a cheerleader (Kerri Green – Goonies) and decides to climb the social ladder by joining the football team. WHAT, the FOOTBALL TEAM?!? Oh boy, that’s not going to go well!

I guess I should mention this gem of a movie was filmed at my high school, the picturesque Glenbard West in Glen Ellyn, Illinois. It really is a beautiful campus that looks more like a hillside Ivy League university than a suburban high school. It was a pretty big deal for the school and obviously the student body was excited. Lucas was packed with stars who were not stars yet – Charlie Sheen, Winona Ryder, Courtney Thorne-Smith and Jeremy Piven whose already balding head made him look like a 45 year-old student.

I played the pivotal role of a student walking through a door at the end of the day. I’m sure you remember the performance. I was lucky enough to spend an entire day with Corey Haim bragging about how his skateboard in Canada was way better than mine, although this didn’t stop him from “thrashing” through the hallways on my “crappy” board in between shots. If I only knew he was going to one day be one of “The Coreys” I would have tried harder to make a lasting bond with the Haimster. However, it’s difficult for us actors to make friends on the set. You’ve never been in a movie so you can’t possibly understand.

Corey and Kent - Best Friends

Corey and I acting our asses off. He was a joy to work with.

Kent and Corey FOREVER!

Yes, the collar is up and the cuffs are rolled. I look totally RADICAL!

p.s. Lucas dies in the original edit but they came back in the fall to shoot the “slow clap” happy ending.

– KR

