Fireplace Mantle

I had a little cocktail party last night and received a lot of compliments on our new mantle and tile surround. It made me think I ought to give credit where credit is due and give a shout out to my very talented pal Erik Gustafson who designed it. He is a woodworker and designer who did the mantle at our previous home (made out of zebra wood) and he constructed this with one of his colleagues, Bill Schick. He does furniture, chandeliers, all sorts of really unique pieces.

Fireplace Mantle

My request for this mantle was modern but still rustic and cozy. He suggested holly based on the tone I wanted for the room and because the pieces he had at the shop had a lot of excellent knots. When people look at it they can never figure out what it’s made of and are always so surprised when I tell them it’s holly. Who knew?! I didn’t see the finished product until it was installed and I couldn’t have been happier. I adore this thing. The knots are really expressive. I chose the tiles from Heath Ceramics and Erik designed the layout. I think the two elements really compliment each other and for sure they both achieve the perfect marriage between modern and cozy.

– JF

